juliespeaks

The unvoiced thoughts and ideas of a septegenarian.

SOMEDAY

on August 2, 2012

SOMEDAY

 

I have a sister who lives by the maxim “JUST DO IT.”  In that respect she is far wiser than I.  I belong to the majority who play the someday game.  More than 50 years ago I began to read Anna Karenina.  Have I finished it?  I have not. Someday I will. Baloney: More likely I’ll never finish it so why do I keep telling myself someday  I’ll finish it? There are only losers in the someday game so why  would anyone want to play it? I think the next time I’m introduced to someone I’ll ask him if he plays the someday game. If he admits to doing so, Farewell Charlie.

 

THE SOMEDAY GAME

We all play it; no rules necessary.

Someday I’ll go on a cruise,

Someday I’ll lose ten pounds,

Someday I’ll learn to golf,

Someday I’ll read War and Peace.

 

There may never be funds for that cruise

But dropping a few pounds,

Learning anything new,

Reading a book costs not a cent.

Why someday?

 

I have a busy as a bee friend

She flits hither and yon,

Travels a road that leads no where.

Keeps telling me she’ll meet me for lunch,

Waits for the day to come,

When she’s not so busy doing nothing.

 

Some people live by the someday theory

Never accomplish a thing.

Others, wiser than they,

Prefer the do it now approach

Knowing someday may never come.

 

Tomorrow I’ll bake some bread;

Tomorrow I’ll call Barbara or Susan or Kate;

Tomorrow I’ll go to that tai chi class;

Tomorrow I’ll go to the library;

Tomorrow I’ll tell my kids I love them.

 

Whoops – there I go again

Forgetting there may not be

A tomorrow or a someday.

 

Sad, tragic,

Pathetic,

Ridiculous.,

Unforgivable.

 

Do you play the Someday Game?

Julie Rose

writerjr@aol.com

One response to “SOMEDAY

  1. Janet slaughter says:

    Youre right julie. My older kids have scolded me for not beating Nike to the to the punch as they heard ‘Just Do It’ almost every day oh their lives, usually prefaced by,”Don’t think about it.”. I like this piece….a good bit of advice for anyone. And yes, you absolutely need to finish Anna Karinina, my all time favorite book. Walk to the library today, put aside your current read, and get a nice big hard cover with a chart of names and nicknames on the first page. Don’t stop until you’re finished. You will love it!!

Leave a Reply

