juliespeaks

The unvoiced thoughts and ideas of a septegenarian.

NEW POST – AVERAGE

on March 24, 2012

AVERAGE

 

I wasn’t valedictorian of my class. I didn’t win any blue ribbons. I did win Spelling Bees , a Betty Crocker cook book, and I think I deserve a few points in a mommy contest

 

I won’t score 150 on an I.Q. test, will never own a patent, won’t ever  write a best seller but I .can turn lousy prose into a winner, knock you off the Scrabble board with BINGOS!

 

I can’t play like Mozart or sing like Ella. I’m unable to emulate Degas or Hepburn, but I can outshine you in the kitchen.

 

I’m never going to have a fortune, live in a penthouse, wear pearls, but I’m

not yet quite broke.

 

I don’t drive a Ferrari, a Porsche or a Mercedes but my car gets me to where I want to go.

 

I own no diamonds nor minks but I’m warm enough and have a bed in which to sleep.

 

Got short changed in the beauty department; no long curly hair, no sexy legs, lost a few dimples to wrinkles. Cute’s not so bad.

 

Was dealt average cards – no full houses for me – but I play a decent game of Bridge.

 

I don’t understand technology – can’t program any device – but I can wield needle and yarn more than satisfactorily.

 

I can’t ice skate, ride a horse, turn cartwheels  or ride a bike ten miles but I swim like a fish.

 

I’ve no knowledge of science, little of history, only a smidgen of mathematics but I have studied all 154 of Shakespeare’s sonnets.

 

I’m neither a  model nor a shopper – out-of-style clothes and no make-up are okay with me.

 

I’ll never take a dreamed of Mediterranean cruise, visit the Greek islands, but I’m content with a sail on an inland lake.

Average?Normal? Not the worst fate to befall one.

Post a comment.

Julie Rose

Julierose601@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

