juliespeaks

The unvoiced thoughts and ideas of a septegenarian.

NEW POST – HAPPPINESS

on March 16, 2012

BLOG HAPPINESS

 

What is it, this thing we call happiness?. Where is it to be found?  I, for one, am content to be content. I don’t search for happiness.  I think it’s like a butterfly that eludes you if you pursue it but if you sit quietly may come and land on your shoulder. To say that someone or something makes you happy is, to my mind, ludicrous.  Only you can find your own keys to the door of happiness. Any key found elsewhere won’t open the door.

Here are a few reflections about happiness from others.

*  Happiness is the feeling you’re feeling when you want to keep feeling that feeling.

*  There are three essentials to happiness. Something to do, something to love, and something to hope for. (Joseph Addison)

*  Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony. (Mahatma Ghandi)

*  If you observe a really happy man you will find him building a boat, writing a symphony, teaching his son, pruning roses in his garden. He will not be searching for a lost button under the bed. He will have become aware he is happy in the course of living life 24 hours a day.

I particularly like this: “A happy life must be, to a good extent, a quiet  life, for it is only in an atmospheres of quiet that true joy dare live.” (Bertrand Russell)  Think, for a moment, how contradictory that is to the hurry-up world we live in and the noise that invades our everyday lives.

I play Bridge several times a week, in a quiet atmosphere, I might add.  I am overjoyed when I have good hands and a good partner.  Just as often I have a partner who should be shooting marbles instead and I can spend three hours at the table without one decent hand. If I want to play this game, from which I derive much pleasure, I have to accept those lousy partners and rotten hands.

In an ideal world everybody would be happy 100% of the time but we don’t live in an ideal world. Certainly there are days of unhappiness. The trick is accepting them for what they are and moving on, confident you can be happy if only you will it to be so.

Are you happy?  Post a comment

.

Julie Rose

Julierose601@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

