juliespeaks

The unvoiced thoughts and ideas of a septegenarian.

NEW POST – PHLOSOPHICAL RAMBLINGS

on March 13, 2012

PHILOSOPHICAL RAMBLINGS

 

Someone accused me of not caring about anything because  I do not yell, argue, stamp my feet. I care about many things. I care that our educational system produces robots and our children are being under taught. I care about drug addicted babies and mistreated pets without a home. I care about improving cross-cultural relationships. Stamping my feet doesn’t prove I care any more.

 

My philosophy is that each day we are given a limited amount of emotional energy and a choice as to how to use it.  I refuse to use mine for vengeance, envy, greed, jealousy or any other negative feeling.  Every minute spent being jealous deprives me of one minute of joy. As I see it, that’s like robbing yourself.

 

Where does my philosophy fall in the spectrum of philosophy? It isn’t metaphysics or aesthetics. It isn’t the philosophy of language, or education or politics. It’s not about various forms of reasoning so it’s not the philosophy of logic. The only classification left is the philosophy of ethics. Is that what it is and why should I care? I have a hard time putting a refusal to waste time on negative feelings in the category of ethics but that may be due to an inability to broaden my view of ethics.  I care because, as with most things in my life, I relish order. Indecisiveness, chaos, messiness are anathema to me.

 

That is not a philosophy of half full, half empty. Nor is it something that labels me a pessimist or an optimist. It simply reflects a denial to be the woman who, for ten years, denied you a second invitation because you didn’t accept the first, or the man who, fifteen years later, refuses to bowl with you because you’re better at bowling than he is.

 

I once mentioned a line from one of Dr. Seuss’ books  to a friend:: “You’ll be sort of surprised what there is to be found once you go beyond Z and start poking around.” My friend then asked me what Seuss’ philosophy was and I was at a loss to respond. On rereading some of his work I realized that How the Grinch Stole Christmas is about anti-materialism and The Sneetches is about racial equality.  Is that philosophy?  I think so.

 

Would you say “A person’s a person, no matter how small” is philosophical?

 

Why am I rambling on this subject — being wishy-washy if you will?  I can only tell you I enjoy playing thinking gymnastics with ideas and setting my thoughts down on paper.  Who knows? Maybe somebody will read my ramblings and find therein something that strikes home for him or arouses his curiosity..

 

Post a comment. Where do you fit in the spectrum of philosophy?

Julie Rose

Julierose601@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

