juliespeaks

The unvoiced thoughts and ideas of a septegenarian.

NEW POST – WRINKLES

on February 23, 2012

WRINKLES

It was Mark Twain who said: “Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter”  I like Mark Twain but he was wrong on this score. It does matter.

Maturing requires effort. By the time you have made yourself what you are you’d better be satisfied for you will have to live with this person the rest of your life. One of the good things about it is that whatever advice you offer comes from experience and is more thoughtful than what you might have said at 20 or 40. It seems to me the first 40 years give us the text: the next 30 furnish the commentary. I’ve adopted two mottos to guide me as the years quickly pass by. I never say ‘I don’t have time.” If I don’t take time to smell the lilacs their sweet aroma will vanish before I do. I never say ‘See  you later.’ Later may never come and a hug or a handshake is for today.

I have the aches and pains common to my age. I need help shoveling snow, am cautious about climbing on a stool. I live in fear of a day that might come when I should no longer drive.  I am not fearful of death though I hope it waits a few more years to claim me. I tell myself the gray of my hair is no indication of the age of my heart or my mind.  I can’t turn back the clock but I can rewind it and I try to remember that a mind lift beats a face lift. It’s all right with me if I shuffle slower as I grow older as long as I still have a full deck

Another way of looking at this is to ask myself if I’d like to be a child again.  Sometimes I would. If I was a child again I’d practice the piano as directed so my lessons weren’t terminated and not spend the rest of my life regretting it. Once again I’d experience the awe that arises from the sight of stars, rainbows and lightening, snowflakes and daisies

We’ll never be children again, We spend some time in our later years, urging our kids to practice their instruments, do their homework, offering them no end of options, treating our grandchildren to the circus, blowing them kisses with chocolate chip cookies

The aging process has us firmly in hand if we never get the urge to throw a snowball. Nobody relishes growing older but wrinkles don’t hurt. Our children and grandchildren don’t mind a few wrinkles either.

Julie Rose

Leave a Reply

