juliespeaks

The unvoiced thoughts and ideas of a septegenarian.

BAD ADVICE

on February 14, 2012

BAD ADVICE

I sometimes recall the advice I was given s a child. My dad was full of time-worn messages meant to guide me as I grew up.  However, the time came when I began to question the validity of some of those.

“The shortest distance is a straight line” Think what you miss by not taking a detour. I once stumbled upon an antique shop housed in an old barn and discovered the Japanese art of netsuke as well as oddities I’d never heard of such as moustache cups. If I had gone in a straight line I’d never have jumped on a flat bottom boat and moseyed through the Okefenokee Swamp. I wouldn’t have taken a side road, stopped at the top of a hill, met a family enjoying a picnic and been invited to join them.  I would have missed taking a carriage ride at a summer festival in Door County.

“Keep it short and sweet.”  Not necessarily. Do you prefer a five minute sonata or a three hour opera, a half page poem or The Psalms, the abridged version or the whole enchilada.  Cliff notes are not my idea of reading material.  I want the text in its entirety.

“Anything worth doing is worth doing well.”  Sounds  good but if you enjoy skiing –  ski. You don’t have to win a slalom  Tried that once. Gave it up when schlepping gear for three kids became arduous but at least I know what it feels like to swoosh down a ski slop and ride a cable car.

“Quit while you’re ahead.” That one is meant for gamblers only. For the rest of us it’s nonsense – Keep going.  “Grow up.” This one always reminds me of Peter Pan – I Won’t Grow Up.  It would be a shame to forfeit the joy and curiosity of childhood.

“Never eat at a place called Mom’s.”  Why not? I once had the best hush puppies in the world and superior barbequed ribs at places called Mom’s

One, however, should have been emblazoned on my heart for it is surely true “Do so” is more important than “say so”

What bad advice have you chosen to ignore?

Julie Rose

 

Leave a Reply

